Changing the access rights to a Space

Last updated:

Space moderators decide who can view or join a Space by changing the access rights. The default Space access rights are defined by your domain administrator, but moderators can change them after Space creation.

  1. Navigate to the Space Settings tab.
  2. Select one of the available options in the Access rights area:
    • Open: The Space is shown in the Spaces directory and all Circuit users can view and join the Space directly. Open Spaces are also shown in the search results by name, tags or description even when the users have not joined them.

    • Closed: The Space is shown in the Spaces directory and all Circuit users have to request access in order to join the Space. Closed Spaces are also shown in the search results by name, tags or description even when the users have not joined them.

    • Secret: The Space is not shown in the Spaces directory and only participants added by the moderators can access this Space. Secret Spaces are not shown in the search results.

  3. If you have selected the Space to be Open, you can allow participants in your domain to add other people by enabling the Allow participants in your domain to add other people.
  4. Optionally, you can allow Circuit users from other Circuit domains to join your Space by enabling the Allow access to external Circuit users. When this option is enabled, moderators can add external Circuit users.
    Note:

    This option is only available if a Space administrator has enabled the Allow access to external Circuit users through Spaces administration > Settings.

0 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all